Home > ideas, qr > Scanners vs marks

Scanners vs marks

March 22, 2010

After a thoughtful response on my blog by Mikepk, I began to wonder “why are some QR readers better then others.”

Shouldn’t all readers learn from each other, and error correction algos get better and better.  The reason I ask is that I am am wondering if I should adapt my artwork to the capabilities of the technology (readers) or challenge the readers to come up with better scanners?

I am very interested in how technologies and tribes around a technology grow. How fast they grow, in what direction, and what forces control/shape/limit that growth?

2 cents

Categories: ideas, qr
  1. Jeff in Ctown
    July 21, 2010 at 7:38 pm

    Seems to me, if you are trying to get a message out, you should do your testing with the crapyest reader you can find. That way everyone will be able to receive your message.

  2. July 21, 2010 at 7:48 pm

    @ Jeff – I do most of my QR work now at http://www.qrarts.com . BUT, i think you are spot on with this comment. How I usually handle this is that I ask my client which QR readers they are using, and cater to them. Otherwise, I am not sure which QR reader is the worst. And, I don’t feel it would be a wise decision to publically post my thoughts on that.

    If I am remembering which blog post this is, I think I was looking at a system purely theoretically and in a macro sense. From an operational standpoint and business sense, I do release my QR codes to a common denominator.

    Patrick -QrArts

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
