Home > qr > QRcode alignment square modification

QRcode alignment square modification

March 21, 2010

Adjustment of alignment squares and edge pixels.

Experimentation of scan-ability found that I could delete the middle squares in the alignment regions. This creates a really unique look for QR codes. In addition, a few edge pixels were removed to create a new edge pattern that gives the QR code a unique look.  Very great discovery !!!

-pd

  1. mikepk
    March 21, 2010 at 1:39 pm

    Not all barcode readers use the same algorithm for alignment detection. Be careful modifying them or you may lock out a portion of possible users, e.g. Quickmark on my iphone refuses to read the ones posted here. I’ve found the alignment markers to be the most important feature for many decoders, including my own decoder.

  2. March 21, 2010 at 2:42 pm

    Mike,

    Thanks for the feedback. I am exploring the edges of threshold detection, so that I can further understand what limits I have as an artist.

  3. April 14, 2010 at 5:42 am

    Mike,

    Can you tell me what top 3 readers you are using, and on what phone? Thx

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
